In The Storm

Sometimes life is hard, really hard. I know you all know this and we all go through hard times in our lives, but a simple storm made me realize something and I thought I’d share.

I was on the way to teach a cake class in Sugarland a few weeks ago and as I pulled onto the Grand Parkway, I noticed this dark, angry sky ahead of me.  At that moment there was a beautiful sunny sky above me, but all I could see in front of me was darkness. darkness

I wanted to turn around and go back home, but there were kids that were expecting me and in order to make it, I knew that I would have to drive straight into this nightmare of a sky.  Fast forward about 5 minutes and into the heart of the storm… I was going 10 mph in a 75 mph zone with NO idea where the road was.  The rain was coming down so hard that I couldn’t see anything except the water smacking my windshield. My anxiety kicked into full gear…I didn’t know when I was on an overpass,  or if I was even in a lane, and I couldn’t see any other cars until they were too close for comfort.  I just wanted to stop and hide in the backseat until it was over, but I kept going…not by choice….I literally couldn’t see where to pull over so I stayed right where I was hoping I was in a lane. It felt like an eternity before I even saw a sliver of light, but then the rain turned into a drizzle and the clouds began to part. WHEW, the light was peeking through. Finally! My breathing began to normalize and I began to relax the death grip that I had on the steering wheel.

As I drove back into the sunlight, I began to realize that this storm was placed in front of me that day for a reason.  I had a rough few weeks and I was in need of a reminder that I needed to let go and let God.

God has a plan for our life. He never promises that we won’t go through storms, in fact he says that we will, but he does promise that he will be there with us.  The hardest days that I face are not a punishment, but my training, and as hard as it might be to keep going through the storms in life, God’s purpose for me is waiting on the other side. Each storm that I come out of makes me stronger, and equipped with more tools to help withstand the next one, so bring it on! Well…maybe not while I’m driving. 😉

~Bethany

IMG_1899

Leave a comment